Home Cricket Shikhar Dhawan news: To lead Team India in ODI against South Africa

Shikhar Dhawan news: To lead Team India in ODI against South Africa


Shikhar Dhawan news
Image Source: Twitter

Article top

View below topics in this post

Shikhar Dhawan news: The all India selection committee has announced India squad for the three-match ODI series. Shikhar Dhawan named captain of the side.

With the full-strength Indian team will travel to Australia for the T20 World Cup, starting October 16. The selectors opted to choose the second-string Indian side under Shikhar Dhawan, while Shreyas Iyer named as his deputy.

The one-day series between India and South Africa is to be played on October 6, 9, and 11.

The Southpaw carried an undefeated record under his belt, as team India won two out of two series under Dhawan. One against Sri Lanka and another one against West Indies.

Apart from captaincy, he stood out as a batter as well. As in the three-match West Indies tour, which India won by 3-0. Dhawan has scored 168 runs in 3 games at an average of 56 and a strike rate of 82.35, including two half-centuries.

Shreyas Iyer named vice-captain of Team India

Shreyas Iyer, who recently got his form back will be the vice-captain of Team India.

Shubman Gill, the leading run-scorer in the 2022 West Indies and Zimbabwe series for India back again in squad as expected. While CSK’s opener Ruturaj Gaikwad also included in the squad.

Gill scored runs at an average of 102.5 in the West Indies series. He smashed two fifties in the fifties in the process, including a missed century by 2 runs.

He amassed 205 runs in 3 innings against West Indies. While the right-arm opener has scored 245 runs at an average of 122.5 in three games against Zimbabwe couple of months back.

Rajat Patidar and Mukesh Kumar receive maiden call-ups 

Rajat Patidar, who scored a magnificent century in the eliminator game in IPL 2022 against Lucknow Super Giants has received a maiden call up. Apart from him, the Bengal player Mukesh Kumar, who recently got a chance to play for India A side also included in the squad.

Rahul Tripathi also been included in the team to strengthen the middle-order.

While Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson has been selected to keep the wickets.

Shahbaz Ahmed will be there as an all-rounder. Kuldeep Yadav and Ravi Bishnoi are the spinners in the team. Fast bowlers – Mohammad Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Avesh Kumar and Mukesh Kumar will be the fast bowlers for India in the series.

The first ODI to take place on October 6 at Lucknow. Second game at Ranchi on October 9. While the third and final ODI to take place at Delhi on October 11.

The regular players Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, and Hardik Pandya along with other regular players will travel to Australia after the final T20 international on October 4.

India’s ODI squad for South Africa series:

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer (vice-captain), Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohammad Siraj, Deepak Chahar


Matched Content Ad

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here