Home Cricket ICC women’s T20 World Cup 2023 Schedule and Venues

ICC women’s T20 World Cup 2023 Schedule and Venues


ICC women’s T20 World Cup 2023 Schedule and Venues
Image Source: ICC

Article top

View below topics in this post

The defending champion Australia will start its campaign against New Zealand on February 11

ICC women’s T20 World Cup 2023

The International Cricket Council on Monday unveiled the schedule for the tournament. The eighth ICC Women’s T20 World Cup will begin on February 10, 2023, in South Africa.

The final game will be played on February 26, 2023, with February 27th serving as a backup day in the event that there are significant play disruptions on the scheduled date.

Women’s team Groups

Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh are all represented in Group 1 of the ICC T20 world cup and Group 2: Ireland, West Indies, Pakistan, England, and India.

The top two teams in each group at the end of the group stage will advance to the semifinals. During the tournament’s group stage phase, each team will face the other four teams in their group once.

ICC’s Statement

“We are happy to be unveiling the match calendar for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup as we strive to build on the success of Australia 2020 and host a distinctly African celebration of cricket,” said Geoff Allardice, ICC Chief Executive Member on Monday after the schedule was released.

“As a key strategic priority for the sport. Women’s cricket continues to build momentum and engage more fans than ever before. With T20 as the growth vehicle for cricket, we are confident that this event and the inaugural U19 Women’s T20 World Cup preceding the senior event will leave a lasting legacy to grow girls and women’s cricket around the world.”

Mithali’s comments

Mithali Raj former Indian women’s team skipper even took her time out and stated that. “The announcement of the schedule takes us one step closer to the Women’s T20 World Cup. This has been a fantastic period for the growth of the women’s game. And I am sure fans in South Africa will be out in huge numbers to support the players.

“I am fortunate to have had the opportunity to participate in ICC tournaments over the years and know what they mean to players globally. I can’t wait to watch some fast-paced, high-energy cricket and closely-fought, exciting matches.”

ICC women’s T20 World Cup 2023 Schedule and venues

DATE Match Venue
10th February 2023 South Africa vs Sri Lanka Cape Town
11th February 2023 West Indies vs England Paarl
11th February 2023 Australia vs New Zealand Paarl
12th February 2023 India vs Pakistan Cape Town
12th February 2023 Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Cape Town
13th February 2023 Ireland vs England Paarl
13th February 2023 South Africa vs New Zealand Paarl
14th February 2023 Australia vs Bangladesh Gqeberha
15th February 2023 West Indies vs India Cape Town
15th February 2023 Pakistan vs Ireland Cape Town
16th February 2023 Sri Lanka vs Australia Gqeberha
17th February 2023 New Zealand vs Bangladesh Cape Town
17th February 2023 West Indies vs Ireland Cape Town
18th February 2023 England vs India Gqeberha
18st February 2023 South Africa vs Australia Gqeberha
19st February 2024 Pakistan vs West Indies Paarl
19st February 2025 New Zealand vs Sri Lanka Paarl
20st February 2026 Ireland vs India Gqeberha
21st February 2027 England vs Pakistan Cape Town
21st February 2028 South Africa vs Bangladesh Cape Town
23st February 2029 Semi-Final 1 Cape Town
24st February 2031 Semi-Final 2 Cape Town
26st February 2033 Final Cape Town

Matched Content Ad

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here